Clothing

REVIEW: HOY Vulpine Women's Roubaix Bib Tights Recommended

by Sarah Lewis

Price £109.00
Size XS to XL
Colour Black
Quite an incredible winter layer to have in your wardrobe... there is really no flaw that I can pick.

REVIEW: HOY Vulpine Women's Roubaix Bib Tights  

Price: £109 
Sizes: XS to XL 
Rating: 9/10

Photography help from Alastair King: www.alastairkingphotography.co.uk.  

Cyclists spend the majority of their time bent double, with joints and hinges at the ankles, knees, hips and shoulders all needing a considerable range of movement to perform unimpeded. So when you think about it, meeting this need is actually quite a big ask for a piece of kit in comparison to the clothes you might spend all day in at work or off the bike. 

Top to bottom these bib tights are easily the longest item from the HOY Vulpine range, meaning that they are designed to cover a large percentage of your body. As such, they must react to a lot of these movements while you are out in the elements and juggling your bike around. With Vulpine having focused on less technical cycling apparel in the past, I was intrigued to see what Hoy's influence might inspire. 

Fishing the tights out of their postage bag, it struck me just how similar the flatlock seam and panel interplay was to a wetsuit. This was pretty encouraging, when you think about how dynamic a surfer needs to be to stay upright and paddle out to the waves in the first place. They also looked incredibly neat, with subtle contours and integrated branding only where necessary. 

HV1

HV2

The first job is obviously getting them on, which is a bit of an unsaid thing when it comes to reviews but one that is actually pretty important - especially for something acting like a second skin. With a zip down the front of the tights, you can step into them and pop your feet through each of the silicone-lined foot holes. This definitely needs to be done sitting down though, due to the absence of a zip at the bottom. While this is no design flaw (where zips can seize and feel uncomfortable against your skin), the elasticated cuffs are pretty tight over your ankle so you need to give it a bit of welly - which could be hazardous if vertical. 

Moving onto the next stage, the tights need a bit of gentle persuasion over your hips as the zip finishes perhaps an inch or two higher than to allow the widest point of the garment to be reached. There is a lot of stretch and it really only affects the two seconds getting changed before and after a ride so is no big thing, but just something to bear in mind when choosing your sizing. If you have an Evans Cycles nearby that stocks HOY Vulpine, it might be worth a trip. 

Next, the top of the tights simply pull on like a waistcoat (who wears those these days?!) and you can pull the zip up. This resulted in feeling pretty darn snug due to about 75% of my skin being covered in Roubaix fabric - and without going into too much detail... some ladies would probably be able to get away without wearing a sports bra underneath. 

One of the design features HOY Vulpine has highlighted about the tights is that they are anti-chafe (aptly shown on their website by an icon of a cactus in a plant pot). The care label is cleverly printed directly onto the Roubaix fleece on the inside and one lonely logo tab is stitched onto the outside, minimising the chance of irritation. This is a huge plus and through testing I can't say that I've found any niggles. 

The last thing to point out on the fit until I get on to what is probably the most important bit - performance on the bike - is that the legs are fairly lengthy. Now I don't make a habit of comparing hip height with other women, but was told during a bike fit that I have quite long limbs. Said bike fitter is actually now my other half so perhaps it was a highly sophisticated (and effective) chat-up line... but that's getting off topic. What I wanted to point out is that I could have stretched a couple of centimetres in the leg department and the tights would still have fitted - so again just something to consider (and a good sign that the bottoms will overlap socks and not ride up). 

HV3

HV4

So with tights firmly on, I headed out to give them a try - and then repeated this process a few times on commutes and weekend rides. My overriding feedback is that they are quite an incredible winter layer to have in your wardrobe and there is really no flaw that I can pick. The fabric stretches and recoils in all the right places and doesn't feel at all restrictive, while the single unit of fabric keeps the drafts out and effectively manages your temperature. 

The pad is integrated so no need to pop a pair of shorts underneath. Here the female-specific Cytech pad offers a comfortable ride without being too large and cumbersome and the cactus icon may as well rear its spiky head again as they certainly don't chafe. While my rides have recently been limited to around 40-50 miles, the tights have definitely gone the distance and there are no gremlins to speak of. 

A pretty smart (if a bit in-yer-face) feature for the winter months is the ginormous reflective HOY Vulpine logo that sits on your right calf like a Jamie Staff tattoo. I actually didn't spot this for a little while on first unpackaging the tights, but it's safe to say that any trailing motorists would have a hard job to miss it. 

I'm also intrigued to the point of wanting to run a research study whether wearing the name of the country's most successful (and arguably, recognisable) Olympians would cause drivers to overtake a little more widely or slowly. Not really something I have the capacity for at the moment, but perhaps there's something in the theory. 

So there you go! I hope I've covered everything in sufficient detail, but some of this is obviously pretty specific to the shape and size of me. It's safe to say though that these bib tights swiftly made it to the top of the pile when it comes to my favourite kit. I'm quite looking forward to chilly morning rides where the Roubaix will be keeping 75% of me toasty. Luckily HOY Vulpine have a couple of other bits and pieces in their range to deal with the rest.

For more details visit www.vulpine.cc/uk/hoy-vulpine.





Events You May Also Like...

Sigma Sports Ride Yorkshire Sportive, 102, 72, 40 Miles, Sun 11th Aug Sigma Sports Ride Yorkshire Sportive, 102, 72, 40 Miles, Sun 11th Aug Weeks to go until event: less than 16 weeks
Orro Sussex Downs Classic, 102, 78, 30 Miles, Sat 7th Sept Orro Sussex Downs Classic, 102, 78, 30 Miles, Sat 7th Sept Weeks to go until event: less than 20 weeks
Big Wheel Big Wheel Weeks to go until event: less than 13 weeks
Lochore Meadows Country Park Lochore Meadows Country Park Weeks to go until event: less than 3 weeks
Italian Coast To Coast Italian Coast To Coast Weeks to go until event: less than 4 weeks

42 Comments

mtom78632
30th May 2018 12:51pm mtom wrote:

Outstanding post, I think blog owners should larn a lot from this website its rattling user friendly . <a href='https://www.glass.net/car-windows&#039;>Auto Glass Repair</a>

mtom78632
20th July 2018 7:14am mtom wrote:

Search engine optimization is a critical aspect of online marketing, and we'll develop a campaign specific to your individual brand and industry. 
https://www.marketing1on1.com/

mtom78632
24th July 2018 8:14am mtom wrote:

I think other web-site proprietors should take this web site as an model - very clean and wonderful style and design, as well as the content. You're an expert in this topic!
https://www.cloudbooth.com.sg/finest-photo-booths/

mtom78632
24th July 2018 8:14am mtom wrote:

I am glad to be a visitor of this thoroughgoing blog, regards for this rare information!
https://www.servicedoffices.com.sg/office-space-for-rent-singapore/

alisha5050
13th August 2018 6:26am alisha jonwal wrote:

All the information in this post is very impressive and I am glad to see this post. <a href="https://www.dwarkaescorts.com/aerocity.php"> Call Girls in Aerocity </a>

mtom78632
13th August 2018 8:14am mtom wrote:

Thanks for the good critique. Me & my friend were just preparing to do a little research about this. We got a book from our area library but I think I've learned more from this post. I'm very glad to see such magnificent info being shared freely out there... http://www.pharmawisdom.in

mtom78632
13th August 2018 8:17am mtom wrote:

I recently wished to create a quick comment so that you can express gratitude to you personally for all wonderful pointers you're posting at this site. Time consuming internet investigation has by the end of the day been rewarded with good quality approaches to show to my guests. I would say that a number of us prospects are really endowed to result from an outstanding network with lots of marvellous people with useful hints. I find myself quite privileged to get used your webpages and appear forward to really more fabulous minutes reading here. Many thanks for lots of things.
https://www.mapquest.com/us/arizona/e-d-marshall-jewelers-glendale-289082860

mtom78632
13th August 2018 8:37am mtom wrote:

There's noticeably a bundle to find out about this. I assume you made sure nice points in options also. <a href='https://www.cosyjewelry.com/bridal-hair-combs-c-1_3/&#039;>wedding Hair combs for brides</a>

mtom78632
15th August 2018 9:46am mtom wrote:

Spot on with this write-up, I actually suppose this web site needs way more consideration. probably be once more to learn much more, thanks for that info. <a href='https://토토사이트"천.com'>"이저토토사이트</a>

mtom78632
15th August 2018 9:48am mtom wrote:

Pretty nice post. I recently stumbled upon your blog and wished to state that I've actually appreciated searching your blog content. After all I will be registering to your own nourish and i also we imagine you compose once more quickly! <a href='https://autoglassmasters.in&#039;>car glass price</a>

soloads
17th August 2018 4:36am Solo Ads wrote:

Spot on, very nice post. You should try <a href="https://oursoloads.com/">solo advertising</a> from this guy.

soloads
17th August 2018 4:37am Solo Ads wrote:

<a href= "https://oursoloads.com/" > solo advertising </a> from this guy.

soloads
17th August 2018 4:38am Solo Ads wrote:

https://oursoloads.com/

reviewsprotocol
17th August 2018 2:12pm Reviews Protocol wrote:

http://reviewprotocol.com/

mtom78632
18th August 2018 9:20am mtom wrote:

Thanks a ton for this, I am greatful for the info http://www.poker18dewa.com

KOF
18th August 2018 11:12am KOF wrote:

This web site is really a walk-through for all of the info you wanted about this and didn?t know who to ask. Glimpse here, and you?ll definitely discover it. <a href="http://www.cryptocurrencychart.io/">Cryptocurrency Live Chart</a> | <a href="https://www.websiterankpro.com/">SEO Checker</a>

KOF
18th August 2018 11:12am KOF wrote:

Hello! I just would like to give a huge thumbs up for the great info you have here on this post. I will be coming back to your blog for more soon. http://www.techolac.com/

mtom78632
18th August 2018 2:32pm mtom wrote:

An intriguing discussion may be valued at comment. I think that you ought to write more about this topic, may possibly not become a taboo subject but normally persons are insufficient to chat on such topics. An additional. Cheers <a href='https://moontoto.com&#039;>토토사이트</a>

mtom78632
8th September 2018 9:20am mtom wrote:

Our security guard company that specializes in providing a variety security services and specifically the type of service you need. Visit my website
http://www.findmeasecuritycompanyin.com/

mtom78632
8th September 2018 9:21am mtom wrote:

Our Security guards maintain a safe working environment for employees and protect your patrons, property, and assets.
http://www.usprotectionagency.com/

KOF
11th September 2018 11:44pm KOF wrote:

Thanks a ton for this, I am greatful for the info http://www.freevpn.pro/

panistefanin
9th October 2018 4:25pm panistefanin wrote:

Je vous remercie de l'information! Je cherchais et ne pouvait pas trouver. Vous me aidé!
<a href="http://1800liveperson.com/metro-pcs/">call metropcs customer service</a>

panistefanin
9th October 2018 4:28pm panistefanin wrote:

http://1800liveperson.com/metro-pcs/

mtom78632
10th October 2018 2:10pm mtom wrote:

Thank you that is very helpful for me, as a new site has been inundated with comments that seem OK at first glance but then get repeated with a slight change of wording. I have something concrete to go on now and will delete quite a lot of them.
https://popularcbdbrands.com/best-cbd-oils/

mtom78632
11th October 2018 2:04pm mtom wrote:

Can I simply say what a relief to find somebody who actually is aware of what theyre talking about on the internet. You definitely know the way to bring an issue to mild and make it important. Extra folks must read this and perceive this aspect of the story. I cant consider youre not more popular since you positively have the gift.
http://www.sk.com.sg/search-for-information/private-investigator-in-singapore

mtom78632
15th October 2018 12:32pm mtom wrote:

I am speechless. This is a superb weblog and very engaging too. Nice work! That's now not actually so much coming from an newbie publisher like me, but it's all I could say after diving into your posts. Nice grammar and vocabulary. No longer like other blogs. You in point of fact realize what you?re talking approximately too. Such a lot that you simply made me want to discover more. Your blog has develop into a stepping stone for me, my friend.
http://www.excavationalary.com

grvvash
16th October 2018 9:43pm Gaurav Vashisht wrote:

https://www.soloadsus.com/

mtom78632
20th December 2018 2:20pm mtom wrote:

Any way I'll be subscribing to your feed and I hope you post again soon. I will remember this .หวยมาเล
http://xn--22c0ba9d0gc4c.com/

alvinrr
28th December 2018 10:48am alvinrr wrote:

I have read some of the articles on your website now, and I really like your style. Visit https://games.lol/puzzle/

panistefanin
11th January 2019 5:02pm panistefanin wrote:

<a href="https://19216801.mobi/">192.168.o.1</a>
Os doy las gracias por la información! Yo estaba buscando y no podía encontrar. Usted me ayudó!

panistefanin
11th January 2019 5:04pm panistefanin wrote:

https://19216801.mobi/

stylishfloor
8th February 2019 5:12pm stylishfloor wrote:

http://www.southbenddeckbuilders.com
http://www.richmondmetalroofing.com

Donnydow
18th February 2019 5:08pm DonnydowHI wrote:

<a href=https://vk.com/casinororg>Играть в популярные виртуальные сервисы</a> вы можете как в демо версии, так и на настоящие финансы. Нужно выделить игру в online казино на деньги, где вы можете получать отличные бонусы. 'ольшинство виртуальны... казино, которые ведут себя честным образом, предоставляют бездепозитные бонусы.

У многи... casino репутация оценивается лицами, которые там играют. *сли лица с именем играют на интересны... портала..., такие casino обладают лицензией. Как правило, там возможно <a href=https://www.facebook.com/groups/casinor.net/>играть в игральные автоматы на деньги</a>. *сли вы ...отите на регулярной основе выигрывать огромные денежные средства, вам потребуется регулярный до...од. Первое время не выйдет выигрывать большие денежные средства. Но, каждый посетитель в сжатые сроки разберется с каталогом игр. Среди известны... автоматов есть слоты от Novomatic, IgroSoft, Microgaming и другие.

In Soviet Russia, slot machines find you.Телеугадайка с сиськамизнают, какое отношение имеет Игровые автоматы к играм."ругими словами, если вы "кормите" аппарат бесконечно медленно и, не дай 'ог, не получаете на смену ничего, подозревать ...удшее не ...одить по пятам.И администрация, естественно, здесь ни при ч'м.Общая статистика по автомату.1 осуществляется ис...од в таблицу листа выплат по автомату, где отражены следующие позиции.Игрок опускал монетку в щель и получал не гре... с помощью рычага крутануть все барабаны одновременно.Сподряд останавливаясь, барабаны формировали ряд из пяти карт, выстроенны... вдоль горизонтальной («платежной») линии.Finn and the Swirly Spin / Фин и спиральные вращения.Pink Elephants / Розовые Слоны.100% "О 5 000 руб и 25 фриспинов.'ышний лимит на вывод средств.' эти... автомата... разыгрывается многое множество разнообразны... призов."лавное понимать, что выиграть и... практически невмоготу.Каждая последующая игра статистически это игра против клиента, чем больше играешь, тем больше проигрываешь, вс' остальное -- философия и самоуспокоение."лавное -- пси...ологическое состояние, настрой и философский под...од к игре.

Donnydow
19th February 2019 1:33am DonnydowHI wrote:

<a href=https://vk.com/casinororg>Играть в известные виртуальные casino</a> вы можете как в demo версии, так и на реальные финансы. 'ажно выделить игру в онлайн казино на денежные средства, где вы можете получать отличные бонусы. Множество онлайн казино, которые ведут себя честным образом, предоставляют бездепозитные бонусы.

У многи... платформ репутация оценивается людьми, которые там играют. *сли посетители с именем играют на интересны... портала..., такие порталы обладают лицензией. Как правило, там можно <a href=https://www.facebook.com/groups/casinor.net/>играть в видео слоты на деньги</a>. *сли вы стремитесь на постоянной основе выигрывать огромные денежные средства, вам нужен регулярный до...од. Первое время не получится выигрывать огромные деньги. Хотя, каждый посетитель быстро разберется с каталогом игр. Среди популярны... автоматов есть разработки от Novomatic, IgroSoft, Microgaming и другие.

"емблинг в виртуальной реальности: онлайн-казино будущего.Самоисключение в казино - для чего оно существует.Лучшие спортивные трансляции на огромном экране и XBOX.Ирландский паб с элитными сортами разливного пива.Первые фирмы, которые стали непосредственно заниматься производством игровы... автоматов в большинстве своем из импортны... электронно-ме...анически... частей, стали создаваться в России в начале 90-... годов.Одной из первы... стала компания "Уникум", которая в 1993 году открыла в Петербурге собственное производство, и наладила выпуск автоматов под маркой «АИТ.Игрок опускал монетку в щель и получал дозволительно с помощью рычага крутануть все барабаны одновременно.Один за другим останавливаясь, барабаны формировали ряд из пяти карт, выстроенны... вдоль горизонтальной («платежной») линии.Игровой зал клуба 'улкан приглашает все... дурачиться в компании *гипетски... 'огов.Поганый утенок превратится в прекрасного лебедя и принесет 'ам удачу в игровы... автомата... 'улкан онлайн.Они запускаются без регистрации аккаунта на сайте и пополнения счета.Шалить за деньги в интернет-казино ZolotoLoto может всякий желающий.Полицейские обнаружили в Советске игровой зал.Управления по борьбе с экономическими преступлениями регионального УМ'" обнаружило в Советске игровой зал.Каждая последующая игра статистически это игра напротив клиента, чем больше играешь, тем больше проигрываешь, вс' остальное -- философия и самоуспокоение."лавное -- пси...ологическое состояние, настрой и философский под...од к игре.

vishakha366
6th March 2019 7:41am Vishakha Singh wrote:

I really like the way you have shared something fresh here on this website and i was getting bored and then i found something fresh here on this article.Thanks for your efforts and i hope for more in future.
https://www.escortsindwarka.com/call-girls-connaughtplace.html

sararobin
31st March 2019 8:38am sara robin wrote:

This is an astounding article a debt of gratitude is in order for sharing this educational data. I will visit your web journal dependably for some most recent post. https://www.wipaq.com/access-control-system

sararobin
31st March 2019 8:39am sara robin wrote:

I will visit your web journal routinely for Some most recent post. I was checking relentlessly this online journal and I'm awed! https://www.wipaq.ae/id-card-printer-dubai

joshuaprice153
4th April 2019 8:02am Joshua A. Price wrote:

This actually answered my problem, thanks! Visit us: http://www.happycleaningservicesjacksonville.com

burtmacklin
21st April 2019 2:52am burtmacklin wrote:

Great review! Thanks for sharing!

Burt
<a href="https://www.krygerglass.com/locations/iowa/davenport/6220-n-brady-st/">auto repair davenport</a>

burtmacklin
21st April 2019 2:53am burtmacklin wrote:

Great review! Thanks for sharing!

Burt
<a href="https://www.krygerglass.com/locations/iowa/davenport/6220-n-brady-st/"> auto repair davenport</a>

motifzclothings
23rd April 2019 10:24am motifzclothings wrote:

Buy embroidered winter collection Online for Women's at best prices available at Motifz. &#10003; Latest Fashion, &#10003; Trendy Designs &#10148; Shop Now!
https://motifz.com.pk/pk/fall-winter.html


Leave A Comment

Please login to leave a comment