Latest News

Entries for Tenth Anniversary Cyclone Cycling Festival Open 31 October

by Nick Gregory

GB Flag

Entries for the 2016 Cyclone Festival of Cycling - taking place from 17 to 19 of June next year - will open on October 31, and the tenth anniversary is set to feature some extra touches to make it better than ever.  

Once again the weekend will feature the Tyne Six Bridges family rides on the Friday (17 June) evening, followed by the popular Cyclone Challenge Rides on the Saturday (18 June). The Sunday (19 June) will see top men's and women's road racing action in the Beaumont Trophy and Curlew Cup races.  

"The sport - and the Cyclone Festival of Cycling - has grown so much in ten years," said organiser, Peter Harrison. "It is an honour to be part of it, so for 2016 I'm doing everything I can to make the whole weekend that little bit extra special. Whether or not you've joined us in the past - 2016 is the year to be part of it." 


Harrison is encouraging riders of all abilities to sign up as soon as possible for the 2016 Cyclone Challenge Rides. The original three rides of 34, 64 and 106 miles are joined for the first time by a 90 mile option - perfect for anyone looking for a challenging step-up from the 64 but not quite ready for the century.  

Entry costs £30 for anyone over 16. Youth riders can enter either of the two shorter options for just £15.  

As in previous years, the event is supported by the UCI and great sponsors that help to give the Cyclone Festival of Cycling weekend its unique appeal. Virgin Money, Madison / Shimano, Northumberland County Council and Northumberland National Park Authority all continue to sponsor the event.  


Other local sponsors help to bring a unique flavour to the weekend. For 2016 that includes companies like Wylam Brewery, who are planning to produce a special King of the Mountains ale as part of their involvement.  

With ten years of history, the Cyclone weekend is well-known. But its roots go back way further. The first Beaumont Trophy race was held in 1952 and previous winners include Sir Bradley Wiggins, Russell and Dean Downing, Malcolm Elliott and Don Sanderson to name but a few.  

Online entry information and full details are available at